It’s Almost Time: Baseball Coming Back to a TV Near You!

Note to self: Car dancing with no music looks very undignified and is apt to make one’s husband look at her funny…that is until I explained that I was car dancing because a couple of nice bloggers commented to tell me this blog (and four other great Angels blogs!) is a featured blog on MLBlogs this week. Seriously, thank you Mark and MLBlogs! This is a fantastic blogging community and you do so much to support and draw attention to all of us that it’s easy to feel at home right away. There are a lot of great blogs and nice people here and I just can’t tell you how much fun it is to be a small part of it all.

But, even more giddy making than this news? The Angels Press Release arrived listing the Spring Training games Fox Sports West will televise in February and March – the perfect reminder that starting this Saturday weekend there will be live baseball on television once again! That’s only four more days without. Short of the official season Play Balls we’ll start hearing on March 31st, it doesn’t get much better than that. Almost all of the games are day games, of course, so I know what I will be doing with my lunch break for the next couple of weeks.

It has been wonderful reading all of the articles from Spring Training but it will be even better to see some of the action and judge it for myself. First glimpses of the Angels new bullpen. Jeff Mathis, Hank Conger and Bobby Wilson competing for starting catcher. Kendry hitting bombs and maybe working back into first base when he’s ready. A sneak preview of our new Vernon Wells, Peter Bourjos, Torii Hunter outfield as well as all of the guys waiting in the wings to spell the main three or come up through the ranks in the next few years. Top prospect Mike Trout playing with the big leaguers, say no more. Watching to see how Andrew Romine, Mark Trumbo and the rest of the minor leaguers have improved over the winter. Watching to see if Kaz and Brandon Wood have improved over the winter. And this is just what I hope to see watching my team!

This schedule arrived at the perfect time. My husband and I had just officially decided that we are not going to Spring Training this year. I’m disappointed, of course, but the television schedule helps ease the blow and, anyway, who can argue with the law:

Law of Conservation of Vices: Vices cannot be created or destroyed, they merely change forms. However, judicious budget and vacation day management are required to ensure continual shifting of vices from their potential form (ie: that enjoyed by everyone but you) to their kinetic form (ie: that enjoyed by you).

We really only have two vices to which this law applies – baseball and wine. This year, a trip to the Paso Robles Zinfandel Festival will allow for greater enjoyment of wine and more baseball games attended during the season than a Spring Training trip. So, as much as I really want to go to spend a long March weekend in Arizona, oh well, next season. At least Paso Robles has a great sense of humor and embraces the coming baseball season. This year’s ad cracked me up:

9 comments

  1. morrismcdoo

    Thanks for the heads up regarding the MLB blog sight. Good post, though I’m more of a single malt scotch guy. Take care!

    -Mo

  2. blithescribe

    Mo – You’re welcome. We bloggers, especially of the Angels persuasion, have to stick together. Yeah, I’m not usually a scotch girl. Too earthy for me – the rum cask Balvenie being a notable exception. I prefer bourbon or Irish whiskey. You take care too.
    Mike – I’ll probably be watching that game too. I love the AL Central. It’s always a good tight race until the end. Will do.
    Jeff – Hangover? Please, those are for amateurs, LOL. Thanks! I was actually quite speechless to see it, especially being such a newbie blogger.
    Kristen
    http://blithescribe.mlblogs.com/

  3. blithescribe

    Jen – I like the way you think! I am right there with you. I can’t wait and between the Angels/Dodgers and the Yankees/Phillies match ups this weekend, have some serious baseball time planned.
    Russel – Well that’s almost like torture – in Florida for spring training but your team is in Arizona. Still, have fun!
    Kristen
    This is a very simple game…

Leave a comment